I shared a desktop with a colleague, but he is still unable to see the desktop. What happened?

Sharing the desktop is one step, accepting the sharing is the second step. Your colleague should've received a notification saying: "Would you like to add this desktop to your dashboard?" After clicking 'OK' the new desktop is added. After that, you can switch desktops to see the shared dashboard.