In Media Injection there are a lot of options for messages from fans. From options that are visible to the fans (such as comments and likes) to options that are only visible for users inside Media Injection. In this article, we explain all the different buttons around one message. As there are many buttons and features around a message we've created an index so you can jump to the options you're looking for:
The first buttons we'll explain are maybe the most used buttons: the action buttons. On the bottom of every post, you will find several icons. These buttons enable you to perform the action pictured in the icon. Every icon consists of two parts: the left side of the icon indicates whether you've performed the action. If you did, the icon will be filled in. The right side will show how many times the action is performed on a message by someone else. By clicking the number you'll see who replied, liked or shared the message. When you click the 'Comment' button the comment menu will open. Here you can write a comment, add a picture, see the preview, add internal notes about the fan you're replying and see the whole conversation history of that fan.
If you're viewing a reply or comment a fourth button will show. This is the 'Show ancestors' button as seen in the screenshot below. This button will show under which post or comment the reply/comment is posted. When viewing a project message, so a message that you posted yourself, a different fourth icon will show: an eye. This shows the number of views on that post. Not every channel allows these statistics so the icon will not always be visible.
Every message can be labeled. Labels let you categorize different types of messages. The labels depend on your company's workflow or KPI's. Ask your admin(s) about your labeling process.
By hovering over the plus sign in the top-right corner of the message a drop-down menu will open with the top 3 labels of your company/brand. This top 3 is set by your admin(s). By clicking on the plus sign the entire list of available labels will show underneath the message.
Media Injection has an automatical sentiment assign-system. The first time you'll log into MI you won't see any sentiment yet. However, after adding between 40 and 60 sentiments manually, MI will start to add sentiment automatically. When hovering over the bar on the left side of the message, the sentiment smileys will be shown. It may happen that MI assigns the wrong sentiment to a message. You can change the sentiment the same way you'll add them the first time. The system will learn from the manual change.
By clicking on the name of a fan you'll open a simplified personal profile. This is just basic information. You can see the fan's entire profile and activity by clicking on 'View full profile'. You'll be directed to his or her profile in the CRM search.
Under the profile-/username you can see a specification of the message. This is the timestamp. The timestamp shows the type of message (status update, comment, private message etc.) and the time and date of the message.
Clicking the timestamp will send you to the original message in the social channel itself. We keep all messages in MI, so also messages that are deleted by the fan himself. If you click the timestamp of such message, the channel will probably give you a (broken link) error.
You can claim messages as yours to answer. You can do this by clicking the hand icon next to the checkmark. By doing this you will create a task for yourself. You can see this task in the tasks popup screen and the task list.
You can also assign tasks to your colleagues which is explained in the chapter below.
Once a task is assigned both the connected message as the connected user will be blocked by the owner of the task. This prevents other users to reply to this user or the message that's assigned to the task. The user blockage will be lifted once the task is closed. However, the blockage of the specific message will stay after the task is closed.
Keep in mind that a task, once closed, cannot be opened again. Also, it is not possible to assign a second task to the same message.
Next to the plus sign for adding labels you can find the 'Ready' button. You can put a message on 'ready' to make sure that your stream only contains messages that haven't been handled yet. You can find all readied messages by opening your list of filters and change the filter Show readied and muted to on.
The ready/mute can be combined with auto labels. A few remarks:
- When a message has labels, nothing happens to the labels if you ready the message;
- When an auto label is defined: all readied and muted messages with no label assigned will get this label when readied;
- When mass ready'ing or muting: assigned labels will be passed to all children of the message.
Tip: Add an extra widget containing 'All messages' and set it first in your dashboard overview. Keep a clear overview by switching off all the filters in this extra widget. The second widget can be your readied and muted stream by switching on this filter.
The three dots in the right bottom corner will open some extra options.
They'll be explained from left to right:
The first icon is the 'Comment' button. This will open the comment menu again.
The second icon is the 'Assign message to task' button. When you click this button the menu to assign tasks will open. You can assign task both to yourself and to colleagues. Select the user, priority, and a tag and comment if needed. You're also able to choose if you want to be notified if the task gets updated.
The third icon is the 'Send e-mail' button. This gives you the option to send the message to any e-mail address.
The fourth and fifth icon are the 'Hide message' and 'Delete message' buttons and aren't available for every channel. The 'Hide' button, for example, is only available for Facebook. This button hides the message for other fans, but it will still be visible for you and the fan that placed the comment/message. Deleting the message will completely delete the message from the channel. We always advise using the hide feature, because you can get in more trouble by completely deleting the message.
The sixth icon is the 'Mute' button. When you mute a message, future replies won't appear in the stream, but will only appear in your readied and muted stream (which you can find under filters).
The seventh icon is the 'Mass ready' button. When you mass ready a message, this message and all its existing children will be readied.
So the different between the 'Mass ready' button and the 'Mute' button is that mass ready will only perform an action on the existing children and mute will perform an action on both existing and future children.
If you hover over a project message you will see a small briefcase next to the 'Ready' button. This is the 'Project' button. If the suitcase icon is light grey, the message isn't assigned to a project yet. This is the case if the post isn't planned via Media Injection. When you click on the suitcase, you can assign the message to a project. If the suitcase is dark grey, as you can see in the screenshot below, the message is assigned to a project. If you click the 'suitcase' in this case, you'll be sent to the dashboard of the assigned project.